⇩ Help us spread Liberty by sharing! ⇩
Pin It

Unless you are fortunate enough to live in Arizona or Hawaii, the federal government’s unnecessary and confusing time-shifting scheme called Daylight Saving Time goes into effect tonight.

On Saturday night (technically Sunday morning) the clock will go from 1:59 AM to 3:00 AM as part of the “spring forward, fall back” notion whereby the government steals an hour and holds it hostage for the majority of the year. Great, right?

The idea dates back to World War I, and was originally designed as a way to reduce the consumption of electricity.

Daylight Saving Time has been used in the U.S. and in many European countries since World War I. At that time, in an effort to conserve fuel needed to produce electric power, Germany and Austria took time by the forelock, and began saving daylight at 11:00 p.m. on April 30, 1916, by advancing the hands of the clock one hour until the following October. Other countries immediately adopted this 1916 action: Belgium, Denmark, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Sweden, Turkey, and Tasmania. Nova Scotia and Manitoba adopted it as well, with Britain following suit three weeks later, on May 21, 1916. In 1917, Australia and Newfoundland began saving daylight. The plan was not formally adopted in the U.S. until 1918.

You can read more about the history of Daylight Saving Time here.

In 2015, Rep. Mike Moyle (R-Star) introduced a bill which would have left Idaho on Daylight Saving Time year-round, but the bill was withdrawn after it was revealed that doing so would be illegal under federal law. States can opt out of Daylight Saving Time entirely, but apparently cannot remain on it when it is not otherwise in effect.

No legislation on the subject was introduced in the 2016 session.